Skip to main content

Planning, Infrastructure and Place Advisory Group

The Scottish Government with the support of Scottish Futures Trust have established a new Planning, Infrastructure and Place Advisory Group (PIPAG).   This is a crucial element of the implementation of NPF4 and the group will help drive forward joined up, place based delivery of development and infrastructure in Scotland.

PIPAG comprises of a core group of experts, supported by a range of organisations providing a wealth of experience and skills on a reference group. 

The core group members are:

  • Richard Ballantyne, British Ports
  • Susan Campbell, Scottish National Investment Bank
  • David Cowan, Scottish Government
  • Pam Ewen, Heads of Planning Scotland
  • John Hamilton, Winchburgh Developments
  • Soren Jensen, Infrastructure Transparency
  • Scott Mathieson, Scottish Power Energy Networks
  • Martin McKay, Clyde Gateway
  • Francesca Osowska, NatureScot
  • Ailsa Raeburn, Community Land Scotland
  • Tony Rose, Scottish Futures Trust
  • Fiona Simpson, Scottish Government
  • Rachel Skinner, WSP
  • Sara Thiam, Scottish Council for Development and Industry
  • Hamish Trench, Scottish Land Commission
  • John Trower, Optimity
  • Kat White, Scottish Government
  • Jane Wood, Homes for Scotland
  • Iain Docherty, Stirling University
  • Pauline Smith, Development Trust Association Scotland

The core group met for the first time on 14 June.  A Draft Group Overview Paper,  Draft Infrastructure First Paper  and Draft Delivery Programme Update were discussed by the group.  Refinements to these papers will be made to reflect the thoughts of the group prior to their next meeting.

The reference group includes:

  • BT
  • Greenspace Scotland
  • Homes for Scotland
  • Institution of Civil Engineers
  • John Muir Trust
  • Key Agencies Group
  • Mobile UK
  • Moray Estates
  • Network Rail
  • NHS
  • Openreach Ltd
  • Planning Aid Scotland
  • Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland
  • Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors
  • Royal Town Planning Institute
  • Salmon Scotland
  • Scottish Environment Protection Agency
  • Scottish Power Energy Networks
  • Scottish Property Federation
  • Scottish Renewables
  • Scottish Water
  • Society of Local Authority Chief Executives
  • Society of Local Authority Lawyers & Administrators in Scotland
  • Tactran
  • Transport Scotland
  • UK Infrastructure Bank
  • Virgin Media
  • Zero Waste Scotland

 We will be providing further information to the reference group very soon






Last Updated: 26 Jun 2023