Skip to main content

Scottish Planning Innovation Awards 2023

Image of black thistle including awards text

The Scottish Planning Innovation Awards (SPIA) will build on the legacy of the Scottish Awards for Quality in Planning (SAQP) which, in 2019, celebrated its 20 year anniversary. Our new Awards (SPIA) have been modernised, digitalised and streamlined!


The five new categories have been aligned with Award winning National Planning Framework 4 (NPF4). Plus, we’ve added in ‘Digital’ and we’d also like to recognise people - whether as individuals or collectively. No team too big!


  1. Sustainable: sustainability and future proofing our places.
  2. Productive: delivering economic investment and community wealth.
  3. Liveable: place making and architecture whether in urban, rural or natural areas.
  4. Digital: the use of digital application to advance planning and building standards.
  5. People: working with all age groups, excellence in leadership or achievement.

Get in touch



How to apply

Announcement of Winners

Who's going to be Judging you?

Be inspired by the Overall Winner 2019

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2023